Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

From Fundamentalism to Freedom

Jephthah__s_Daughter[1]For over 20 years I never once doubted the existence of the Christian god. I may have doubted specifics of his nature, I may have doubted interpretations of his actions by others, but I never doubted the existence of my chosen deity. My Christian credentials ran long. . .

Leaving the Fold

De-converting from Christianity was not easy. It is one of the most difficult things one can do after being a follower for almost ten years. I was a Christian for the better part of ten years, even after the events that destroyed my trust in Christianity my faith remained by the tiniest thread for a long time. . .


Leaving the Fold part 2: What the Hell, God?

hell1[1]The title “What the Hell God?” is based on an entry found on the website TV tropes called “What the Hell Hero?” It describes any event in a book, film or other medium in which the hero is called out on their actions wherein the hero breaks their own moral compass and therefore is criticized for it. . .

Brainwashed at Bible Camp

Lately, I’ve been reflecting on the key stories and experiences from my childhood that had shaped and solidified my belief in God/Jesus for several decades, until my recent deconversion. One event in particular had a profound impact on my spiritual development, and convinced me that Christianity was real. . .

The Most Bass-Ackward Path From Christian To Atheist You’ve Ever Heard

bassack2[1]From my very earliest memories, I had a very strong sense of a Something there watching out for me and caring about my well-being. I called it God. This was true even though I was raised by Milquetoast Methodist parents who had me baptized and then took me to church a couple of times a year, being essentially agnostics. . .

What Remains

It’s been nearly 4 years since I left the beliefs of my childhood behind. The dust has settled for the most part. I have long since developed a new perspective, a new philosophy, a new moral foundation. In many ways, arguably the most important ways, I am still the same person as I always was. . .

I Witnessed a Resurrection (and still didn’t believe it)

Cutting-a-Woman-in-Half[1]It strikes me that Christians accept the foundational event of Christianity on extremely weak evidence. Supposedly, the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, as described in the Gospels, is taken as proof that he was a god and thus deserving of worship. . .

Since When Has The Presence Of A Cross Helped Anyone….Ever ?

What I saw in the T.V. coverage of that Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus accident a while ago, got me to thinking. . .

Becoming Free

becomingfree[1]Blame it on my parents. They always told me to “think for yourself”. I doubt they ever considered what would happen if I really did that. . .

A “Providential” Encounter At A Pub

My friend Kary owns a pub. It’s a place that persons of my “mature” age can go and enjoy. The pub also attracts a lot of undergrad and grad students from a nearby, large, state university. They come to have a drink, enjoy live music and play pool. . .

Outspoken Anti-Theists and Secular Champions List Bible Verses They Actually Like

bible-snipped-2-copies[1]A few years back, a cheeky Christian website named Ship Of Fools asked readers to vote on the worst verse in the Bible. The solicitation went out—“It could be a verse which is irredeemably naff, mind-numbingly boring, or a verse which you find offensive or cruel. Please send us your nomination.”—And contenders flowed in. . .

Changing the Abortion Conversation–A Biblical Aikido Strategy

Picture this: A group of abortion opponents stand outside a women’s clinic holding pictures of fetal remains. As they stand there, calling and offering pamphlets to people entering the clinic, a trickle of pro-choice activists also arrive. Instead of lining up on the opposite side of the sidewalk, they position themselves beside the first group in silence, holding posters of their own. . .

Do the Bible’s prophecies prove the Bible to be the word of god?

revelation_churches[1]In a recent article on this site titled “Does the Bible Prove Itself,” I recounted how I spoke with two young men who came to my door representing the Jehovah’s Witnesses. I invited them in and we conversed for a half hour or so. . .

The finger of G-d’s destiny that led me to leave christianity

I’m a 23-year-old guy from Lithuania who left Christianity 1 month ago. For 3 years I’ve been a serious christian, walking as hard as I could on the christian path. All of my dreams and goals in this life were related to fulfilling G-d’s plan in my life. I was really serious about that. . .

Eleven Kinds of Verses Bible-Believers Like to Ignore

the-word-of-god[1]Bible-believing Christians play fast and loose with their sacred text. When it suits their purposes, they treat it like the literally perfect word of God, and, in a peculiar twist of logic, they quote the Bible itself to back up their claim. . .

The Recipe for Spiritual Experiences

It‘s not unusual to find individuals testifying to their spiritual experiences, while others describe  themselves as “spiritual” persons. We can be sure, with the new pentecostal movements in the  Christian religion alone, that churches are loaded with those sharing personal testimonies of spiritual  experiences. . .

Help in the Aftermath

cake[1]Hello everyone. As many of you have done, I too thank the people who started and continue to keep this website up and running. It has been a tremendous help in my de-conversion experience over the last six years. . .

Absence of Knowledge vs. Absence of Belief

Believers and even some atheists describe atheism as “absence of or lack of belief.” Why “absence?” You wouldn’t describe non-belief in dragons or unicorns or Klingons or pink elephants as meaning that something is lacking in the individual’s mind or personality or morals, because those beliefs are not accepted. . .

A spiritual awakening… a year after abandoning the church

spiritualawaking1[1]Last weekend I was reminded that it had been approximately nine years since my family started attending church. Being reminded of this also brought to mind the fact that it’s now been a whole year since I stopped regularly attending church. . .

I’d be willing to accept the Bible as evidence…

Whenever I’m encouraged to re-consider my departure from Christianity by those that genuinely care about me, I tell them all pretty much the same thing. I’d be willing to accept the Bible alone as evidence for God – if it can be proven to be reliable. . .

The Way Home

home[1]From the moment I first laid ears on “The Way Home,” a gorgeous bonus track on the European release of The Airborne Toxic Event’s Such Hot Blood, my overriding impression was that of a journey. . .

The Bible is the Only Source for Truth!

One of the most treasured claims of Christianity centers around the Bible being the only source of truth that people can rely on. To believers, the scriptures are absolute truth because, well – it says so right there in them that they’re true. . .

Don’t Blame God

imaginarygod[1]Welcome to the Blame Game Age. Should God also be blamed? Under polytheism, gods were specialized, and could be blamed for specific calamities, absences, and lack of responses. But, since monotheism came to predominate, every age is the Age of Blaming a God Who Never Apologizes, Never Explains. . .

Listening

An article, “Papal Economics,” by Leah Mickens, is in The Humanist magazine, May-June 2014. It is more about Catholics than popes. . .

3 Strikes And You’re Out, With God

threex[1]I haven’t been visiting exchristian.net for quite a while now, and I’ve missed my almost daily conversations with you all. I feel that I need your help / input on something that has come up in my life. I know that I’ve talked about my ultra-fundy Brother, Sister-in-law and my two Nieces who live in the buckle of the bible belt.

