Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6,000-Year-Old Crown Found in Dead Sea Cave Revealed 

6000-years-old-crown-dead-sea[1]The world’s oldest crown, which was famously discovered in 1961 as part of the Nahal Mishar Hoard, along with numerous other treasured artefacts, are to be revealed in New York University’s Institute for the Study of the Ancient World as part of the ‘Masters of Fire: Copper Age Art from Israel’ exhibit. The ancient crown dates back to the Copper Age between 4000–3500 BC, and is just one out of more than 400 artefacts that were recovered in a cave in the Judean Desert near the Dead Sea more than half a century ago. [Read more]

Adventures in Creationist Earth Science Education IVb: Wherein I Forecast a Crisis of Faith

After the desert of Science of the Physical Creation, I’m hoping Earth Science Fourth Edition doesn’t let me down. When I read Christianist textbooks, I expect them to incorporate a bit more God into the instruction, but it seems like no one wants to admit that they think God controls the weather. Sad. [Read more]

“Noah” May Be Worth Seeing After All

A. O. Scott’s review of “Noah” in the New York Times starts with a nice headline:
screen-shot-2014-03-30-at-7-16-32-am[1]And, contrary to what I expected of the movie (I should have known better given that the director was Darren Aronofsky), Scott gives the movie a thumbs-up. [Read more]

Not Once Did I Think to Pray

I’m not a new father, but its been 5 years since my son was an infant.  My 7 month old daughter is less of a challenge because of the experience, but I’m no expert.  My wife is away traveling for 6 days on business, so I alone have my daughter over the weekend, with no wife and no daycare.  No problem.  Nothing new. [Read more]

Sick of the Charade

charade[1]I am weary to the core today. This website is the only place I feel I have to turn to for solace. Last weekend I lost a dear family member to a long illness. At my place of employment, I continue to advocate for those without a voice–abused and neglected children. My boss, who I lost respect for many years ago, announced her retirement yesterday. She should have gone away a long, long time ago. Of course, she is a highly thought of, well-respected “Christian” in the community, who is above reproach (in other words, when I considered filing a grievance against her, I was advised that it would be committing suicide to my career). I do go to a Unitarian Universalist church where most of the members are atheists and freethinkers, so there is some relief for me there. [Read more]

What I Wish I Had Known About My Sunday School Teachers

sunday-school-class[1]When I was a kid, I naively looked up to any adult as an authority figure. Adults always seemed so old and wise compared to me. It was like they were from another planet, and I assumed they knew pretty much everything there was to know about everything. Doubly so for the adults in authority positions over me, like Sunday School teachers, ministers, Scripture teachers and primary school teachers. As a boisterous young boy, I was constantly pushing the boundaries against these teachers: I wanted to run around, play, and explore the world; whereas my Sunday School teachers wanted me to sit down and learn about Jesus. [Read more]

My Brief Story

I thought about telling the story of how I got to where I am today but decided it would be entirely too boring and tedious. Here’s the abridged version. I got involved in Christianity in 1997 when I met my future wife. We married in 1998, became members of the church she grew up attending, and got very involved in Christianity. [Read more]

