Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Are Atheists Intellectual Snobs?

If you want to see a gratuitous piece of accommodationism, one that manages to avoid every substantive issue that divides believer from nonbeliever, read a new piece in The Atlantic by associate editor Emma Green, “The intellectual snobbery of conspicuous atheism.” [Read more]

Atheism is Not Intellectual Snobbery

You are too intellectual, that’s what you are. You live a snobby house and drive a snooty car. The Atlantic’s Emma Green has written an article called the Intellectual Snobbery of Conspicuous Atheism where she goes on the assault against the “conspicuous” atheist. In other words? People like me. So it’s only fair to defend myself. [Read more]

Why I Am an Atheist

heavens[1]Looking over my blogs I see that I have dealt with various aspects of the various issues that caused me to become an atheist, but I have never tried to provide a concise, one blog summary of those reasons. [Read more]

On the Limits of Atheism

In my last blog I wrote about why I was an atheist. However, that is not really telling you much about me. In fact, it tells you very little about me; and the little it does reveal is among the least important aspects of me. [Read more]

Writing God’s Obituary: How a Good Methodist Became a Better Atheist

pinn_book1-380x500[1]Since the mid-1990s, Anthony Pinn has been known to many humanists as a major humanist scholar. He is the author or editor of twenty-eight books, including Why Lord? Suffering and Evil in Black Theology (1995),By These Hands: A Documentary History of African American Humanism (2001), and The End of God Talk: An African American Humanist Theology (2012). In his first book (Why Lord?) Pinn discussed theodicy from an African-American perspective. [Read more]

Wait, You’re an Atheist AND a Conservative?

hitchens-300x199[1]For many people, the idea of a conservative atheist seems like an oxymoron. One explanation could be that we mostly see popular atheist activists speaking out politically over progressive issues like marriage equality or abortion rights for women. Opponents of these issues, who generally identify as conservative, tend to use religious arguments to back their positions. Plus, conservatism is associated with authoritarianism and dogmatic tradition while atheism certainly is not. [Read more]

The Myth of the Consistent Skeptic

Let’s not fall into the trap sometimes described as the “Myth of the Consistent Skeptic.” Albert Einstein was an huge and outspoken admirer of the Soviet Union’s government system, holding onto his positive view even as negative information poured in. [Read more]

Guided by Reason, Not by Faith

blind-faith3[1]I am a private Christian school student in the Bible Belt. My religious background is a bit of a mess. My family is predominantly Christian, and anyone who isn’t a pastor of some sort, is a devout fundamentalist. My parents are very controlling and self-admittedly closed-minded. This environment caused me to be a very gullible child. Even though I loved science and saw the problem of light existing before the Sun and stars in Genesis, my upbringing led me to call these contradictions “God’s mysteries.” [Read more]

Believe I’m going to hell? You’re either insincere or don’t care. Pick one.

liz-weston-hell[1]Fundamentalists: you have not been trying very hard to save me. Either you do not really believe I am going to hell, or you do not care. Which is it? I wasn’t going to post this until next week, but I needed to get it online while the relevant Big Questions episode is still on BBC iPlayer so you can see what I’m talking about. [Read more]

Anti-Gay Bigotry: 
NYC preacher advocates stoning gays; Indiana bakery refuses to make wedding cake for same-sex couple

jesuswouldstonehomos[1]When is this stuff going to end? I’m absolutely convinced that anti-gay bigotry is attributable almost entirely to religion, mainly because those who practice it often explicitly cite their “religious beliefs.”  It’s one of those things, like opposition to stem-cell research, that there hardly seems to be a secular justification for. [Read more]

Maher on “Noah”

A week ago I wrote about the upcoming movie “Noah” with its all-star cast including Russell Crowe in the title role and also featuring Jennifer Connelly, Anthony Hopkins, Nick Nolte, and Emma Watson. [Read more]

The Empty Pews

Why is over half of the population on the planet routinely “silenced” or excluded from leadership roles in religious communities because of their sex, their biological makeup? [Read more]

Skeptech Gameathon Fundraiser – March 22nd!

Last year, the first Skeptech conference was, entirely unsurprisingly, a big success. With some big names talking about some big topics in and around the intersection of science, technology and skepticism, they’ve got a tough act to follow this year. And yet, they seem to have managed just fine on the speakers front, with Jesse Galef, Tim Farley, and Debbie Goddard, to name a scant few. [Find out more]

